The J.A. Bartel Store, located on River Road, is a landmark in St. Gabriel. The wood front has been used as a setting for several movies, but the store is no longer in business. Mike Barthel first opened the doors in 1880 and it remained in operation under the same family until the the 1990’s. Under new ownership, the store continued to serve the community until November 30, 2000, after 120 years in business. The swayback plank porch leads to a dim interior captured for its atmosphere in numerous commercials and films. Although the store no longer stocks general merchandise it still stands as a reminder of a time when proprietors would greet everyone by name and business was done the old-fashioned way.